Good thing I had a coupon…

Picked up the Symlin this morning. The CDE had given me a “coupon” for a free starter box of 2 pens.

I knew it was expensive. I’ve also checked to see if it’s covered by my insurance. (It is.)

Today, it was free. Which is a good thing because if I don’t like it, I won’t feel guilty about not using it.

I won’t be using it 3 times a day which makes me wonder if it will take me longer to adjust to it. I really doubt that I’ll use it even every day. My ARNP/CDE uses it just every now and then when she’s having a really larger meal or dessert. She doesn’t think I’ll be going to the full “dose” anytime soon.

According to the directions, you must eat at least 30 carbs and 250 calories when injecting Symlin. My normal breakfast is under 20 carbs. A lunch at home is under 40 (yup, most days I come home for lunch and fix a sandwich). I haven’t been counting calories – another thing to add to my list…

Thank you Scott and George for your comments! Thanks Reyna for the encouragement.

So, this weekend will be the big experiment. I would still like to hear from someone who is using Symlin??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good thing I had a coupon…

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    I never tried it, but just wanted to wish you good luck. Glad you had that coupon – those come in handy!

  2. Reyna says:

    Dear Lord that is expensive! And UGH on counting the calories too. I would go NUTs. xo

  3. Scully says:

    I’ve always been curious about it too but the nausea aspect of it is all it takes for me to say NO WAY. I’m eager to hear about your experiences.

  4. Hilary H says:

    I am interested to see how it works for you. I would love to try it if you have success.

  5. So, how long can you use the vial? Does it go bad after 30 days like insulin (supposedly) does?
    The expense is incredible.
    Last week I had a cabdriver who was T1 and had no insurance. He had to stop using Humalog and go back to Regular, which he gets at WalMart.

Comments are closed.