Listening to Dexcom

Using a CGMS, in my case, Dexcom, has become a love/hate relationship.

I don’t mind carrying an extra piece of d-stuff. Although, it’s amazing how many times I leave it sitting in one room when I go to another room. That’s not a huge problem as our home isn’t that big, really. Work? That’s a whole different scenario.

I did some shopping last week (yippee for a trip to the endo and the mall) and wanted to find some new pants. My criteria, other than fit – I want pockets!

When DD (darn Dexcom) is right, it’s almost as exciting as seeing that elusive “104” on a meter. When DD is wrong, well, it’s really quite annoying, especially in the middle of the night. I keep thinking of the old tale, “The boy who cried wolf.”  The other night, around 3am, it tried to tell me I was 39. I don’t think so – tested and was 164. I worry that I’ll get complacent and ignore it. I did get up and test but – it was very tempting to just shove it under the bed.

A few nights ago we were driving to a function in another town, about 30 minutes away. I was driving, Dexcom buzzed, husband checked it (it was in my purse) and it said I was below 80. I knew it was wrong but – pulled over when we could and did a meter check. Yup, you guessed it, Dexcom was right. So we switched drivers, I ate some Skittles (really don’t like Skittles) and we had a great time at the party.

Symlin update – not much to report. I’ve used it twice. No nausea. BUT – no lower bg’s either. In fact, they were very, very high. (How annoying!) I’ve contacted the endo’s office and will see what she advises. I want it to work but… I’m not convinced that it’s going to work for me.

Meanwhile – this ad cracks me up. (It doesn’t take much…) (Remember, I’m older than most of you…)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Listening to Dexcom

  1. Kim says:

    There are so many times that I’ve shut down my Dexcom in the middle of the night, just so I could sleep – because sometimes, it lies!

  2. Sara says:

    I thought those two didn’t get along anymore? Good to see them together again I guess. 🙂

    I have stopped waking up most of the time when the DexCom alarms. That or it doesn’t alarm at night. I will wake up and be completely surprised by the graph!

  3. It took me a long time of trial and error to figure out how to best use Symlin. It felt like it took forever, and it also felt like a lot of work.

    When you take it, are you doing anything different with your insulin? Taking less? Spreading it out over time? It’s also possible that the low starting dose isn’t enough to do the trick for you. If you’re not experiencing any nausea, maybe you could tolerate the next higher dose.

    I picture it being really difficult and time consuming to figure it out if you’re only using it rarely. In that case, you’ll need to be extra patient and determined. I really do think it’s a great tool, but it’s kind of scary sometimes and definitely frustrating.

  4. Reyna says:

    Bummer on Dex giving you the SHIZZ. And…the “fiber” part made me laugh out loud this morning. Thanks for that! xo

  5. Cheech & Chong were icons of our generation………

Comments are closed.