Dinner with the CDE

I had a fabulous dinner and evening with my former CDE, the one who did my pump training (almost two years ago), this evening. We haven’t seen each other in over a year – a few emails back and forth but that’s all. (Past info – insurance wouldn’t pay for me to see her so I had to switch.)

We’ve been trying to get together for a while – and it finally worked out for tonight.

We didn’t talk so much about my diabetes as much as just diabetes in general and the need for more positive education for all, 1’s and 2’s. (And conversation about our kids and trips and stuff…) I told her that her positive approach and ability to work WITH me were huge in my success with pumping and feeling like I had some… control.

Funny (sort of…) part of the dinner. After we ordered, I tested so I’d have my BG in my head (and yeah, in the meter) before I shot the Symlin. Well, didn’t have any Symlin as I was at 60. Good grief… She suggested that I suspend the pump (I’ve never done that – just shoved a few crackers in my mouth – suspending made more sense…) until our food arrived, and agreed that I shouldn’t take the Symlin. She’s interested in reading some of the d-blogs and is impressed by how supported I feel by other d-people. She asked me to send her a list. Anyway, it was a great evening “talking d” with someone who really, really knows it.

Also – sent yesterday’s post to my present CDE (another great lady) and she wrote: Great news Colleen!  Thanks for keeping me updated.  Sounds like you have a great support system online.  Maybe I’ll start recommending this type of venue for more of my patients!

So – nice evening spent with a CDE – who’d have thunk?

The CDE and me on first day with the Ping! December, 2009
She said I was the first patient to take a picture.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dinner with the CDE

  1. Wendy says:

    This is awesome 🙂 I LOVE hearing such wonderful stories about CDE’s.

  2. Sara says:

    What a great CDE!

    I think her comment about the picture is funny! I almost took video during my flu shot for a blog post 🙂

  3. Kelly Booth says:

    That is great that you were able to meet up with her. It is always nice to meet up with someone that helped you in the past. I also think her comment is funny about the pic, but come to think of it, I didn’t take my camera to pump training!

  4. Karen G says:

    That is so cool – it must have been like having your own personal diabetes guide for that dinner!! I bet she is very proud of how far you’ve come and how many others you are helping with your blog!!

Comments are closed.