About that girl with the curl…

There was a Little Girl
By Henry Wadsworth Longfellow 1807–1882

There was a little girl,
Who had a little curl,
Right in the middle of her forehead.
When she was good,
She was very good indeed,
But when she was bad she was horrid.

Here is my version (with apologies to Henry…)
There was a little dexcom,

That had a little beep,
Right in the middle of the night.
When it was right,
It was very good indeed,
But when it was wrong it was horrid.

The love/hate affair with my dexcom hasn’t been that long. I just started using it in July.
No one ever said that it was frightening to insert. Or maybe it’s just me…???

When it’s working the way it’s supposed to work, it’s amazing. When it’s not, well then it sucks.

Mostly, I’d like to go back to sleeping all night.
At first, I had a terrible time hearing the beeps and buzzing at night. Little did I know how lucky I was. Now, I hear it. I love it when I test and find that – oh, there’s a problem. But when it tells me I’m 39 (not my age, darn!) and I get up to test and I’m actually 150+ (that’s not my age either, thank you), well, that’s not so cool.

BUT, it (dexcom) totally and completely claims my respect when it wakes me for a low and it’s right.

It’s just that sometimes – in the middle of the night – I start thinking about the story of “The Boy Who Cried Wolf.” I don’t want to get to a point where I ignore its buzzing and beeping. But it’s tempting, some nights.

Now, I have to be honest – oh gee, this sucks too. I try my darndest to make the sensors last longer than seven days. I do the sensor restart. It’s taped with the Opsite Flexfix (darn stuff works – but it’s like playing with contact paper). I calibrate!

But, that really nice husband that I love (and have for 37 years…), said the other morning, “It’s stupid for you to keep trying to make this last longer when it’s not working. Just put in another sensor. Your health is more important than the cost.” He’s right. And he’ll probably read this and know that I admitted that he’s right. I will pay for that…

Amy wrote about taking off the dexcom today – she’s tired of it. I can understand that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to About that girl with the curl…

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    I know that love/hate relationship! When I had a bad sensor though, I was counting down until I could pull it and hope the next one was good.

    I hope that the price you have to pay for admitting your husband is right isn’t too high!

Comments are closed.