I Never Knew…

World Diabetes Day

Image courtesy of Lorraine - http://thisiscaleb.wordpress.com/

There will be many posts today about World Diabetes Day today.

I never knew there was a World Diabetes Day, before I was diagnosed.

I never knew November was Diabetes Awareness Month, before I was diagnosed.

I never knew that were so many, many, many people living with Type 1 and Type 2 Diabetes, before I was diagnosed.

I never knew that adults could be diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes, before I was diagnosed.

I never knew that babies could be diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes, before I was diagnosed.

I never knew that people who died of diabetes were doing everything to manage their disease and yet – died, before I was diagnosed.

I never knew that TV ads about diabetes were so very annoying, before I was diagnosed.

I never knew that I would need glasses to read a nutrition label before injecting insulin, before I was diagnosed.

I never knew that there are people all over the world who would take the time to write me an encouraging word and/or helpful advice, before I was diagnosed.

I never knew that other people with diabetes would become my very special friends, before I was diagnosed.

I never knew…

I know now.

I truly wish none of us knew anything about diabetes…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Never Knew…

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    I never knew there was a World Diabetes Day until about 24 years after I was diagnosed. Wish we had the DOC back then.

    I wish none of us knew anything about diabetes either!

  2. Debra says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and reading my October Blog Carnival and saying hi (twice…double the pleasure) ;-). You said so many things in this blog that I have been thinking as well. So many things I never knew before my diagnosis.

Comments are closed.