Back to that “Small World” stuff…

I apologize to Kim if this makes her start humming “that song” again…

Alright, so it was weird enough to discover last month that Kim V. graduated from high school with our youngest son. And they didn’t know each other at all (big high school). Interesting part, our son’s best friend in high school was (and still is… no surprise…)
Type 1. Wish Kim and he could have met…

Before that, back in November – I received an unexpected comment.

I just read your post about your dad (long story about how I wandered onto it), and wanted to tell you how sorry I am about his passing. I was an MP at Quarry Heights in 1973 – 74, and knew him a little. One day, after seeing a freckle faced girl (woman) drive thru the back gate, I made the connection to your name, as we went to St Mary’s Elementary School together (your freckles were what I remembered most about you obviously). Remember Sister Norbert ? Yeah, we all do. She cracked me over the head with a grammar book once…how could I forget ?  Anyway, I confirmed it with him, and we chatted about St Mary’s and Alexandria, Va. By stroke of luck, I also was at the front gate when you all left Quarry Heights for the last time, and rendered him his last salute at QH, along  with a little “non regulation” wave goodbye. He was well liked by the troops at QH, and from my conversations with him, he seemed to be a genuinely good man. I hope he had a great retirement. And good luck in your struggle with diabetes.
 

This guy went to elementary school (grades 5 & 6) with me. He was doing a search for some of the officers he’d served with and found the Veterans’ Day post I’d done about my dad. Quarry Heights was an Army Post in the Panama Canal Zone. I was in college then and just spent one summer and one Christmas there.

I thought it was pretty nifty and hope you do, too!

Found the above on Pinterest. Thanks, Sara!

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to that “Small World” stuff…

  1. Kay Dennison says:

    Wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy cool!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Debra says:

    What a sweet story about your dad, it is undeed a small world:)

  3. Wendy says:

    Small small world!! My husband went to high school with Meri (Our Diabetic Life) for a year!

Comments are closed.