A “duh…” moment

Should have changed the inset this morning, but didn’t. I used to be religious about that. Every third morning, I changed it, for over two years. Recently, I’ve been hanging onto it for a few more hours or even (gasp!) an extra day.

The issue this week was that having changed it one morning, it promptly fell out that evening as I was changing for bed. Well, that’s annoying. So I popped in a new inset and didn’t change the reservoir or tubing. (I have to be honest here. “Popping in a new inset” was not something I’d ever thought I’d be able to say. The first month of changing pump insets was always a challenge, always a step by step procedure. Now, I can do this.)

Anyway – did the whole change routine a few minutes ago. M is at the polls so I’m home alone. (Yippee! We live in NH and the political phone calls will stop for now!!)

The tubing would NOT unscrew from the reservoir and I stupidly… sort of, got a little worried. What am I going to do? How am I going to get the cap off? I tried hot water – didn’t work. I tried brute strength (I don’t have much of that) – didn’t work. I considered calling Animas, thank God I didn’t. I can see it now – Top 10 list of dumb pump questions. Finally, my brain went into gear and… (I know, you already thought of this but I didn’t), cut the damn tubing so the cap was now available.

So – try not to think poorly of me. I’m not usually quite this dimwitted. Really…

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A “duh…” moment

  1. Scully says:

    that’s so cute! It’s totally something I would do! I think we are all allowed blonde moments here and there.

  2. Wendy says:

    I’ve totally done that!!!! Complete panic over the cap!!!! It was my 7 year old who pointed out that we could just cut the tubing. Of, course….that’s what I was thinking…

  3. Karen G says:

    Either I’m really really dumb or Animas is a lot different from Minimed . . . . but why exactly do you need to unscrew the tubing from the reservoir? I just discard them both together. Am I missing something or doing something wrong?? Hopefully it’s just a Animas / Minimed thing!! 🙂

  4. Kelly Booth says:

    I guess you can tell, I am behind again! When I first got my pump, I sat in front of the computer to do site changes. I found a little visual step-by-step link online that I followed. In the beginning, I didn’t think that I would ever get to the point of being able to do it without watching that.

Comments are closed.