Links

I love that WordPress catches almost all the spam comments that try to show up here at
d-meanderings. I even chuckle when reading them (“This is interesting subject. I like to learn more.” “Product is good. I will buy.” etc…) and the email addresses are amazingly complex and weird.

But, I’ve noticed recently that most of them are commenting on my d-links page. Which says to me that they’re probably grazing and stealing links from that page. So, might be rethinking how to do that.

D-links are how I entered into this land called the DOC. Found one blog and then explored any links on that blog. And that led to more exploring with more d-links. Thankfully, people said “hello” and were welcoming even though I’m pretty sure some of my comments sounded very similar to the spam comments above.

I knew nothing when I was diagnosed (at age 55). So I read books and like everyone else, hit the internet. Diabetes medical sites were nice but, the blogs were/are the best. They’re so much like my days as a new mom, when a bunch of us would take walks with the babies and solve most of our issues just by talking to others. And if we couldn’t solve the problem, we found out we weren’t the only one whose child was perplexing at times.

A favorite memory. The eldest had colic – and the day it began I was a very frustrated, teary mom. My back door neighbor showed up. She’d noticed that I hadn’t opened any curtains or the back door. She took one look at the two of us (both red-faced and teary), took the baby from me and told me to go take a walk. I did take a walk and then felt ready to get back to being mom after that. The neighbor, who in addition to having two older children, was also a registered nurse and she’s the one who thought it was colic. I wouldn’t have had a clue. (It was, and lasted 3 months almost exactly.)

Same with diabetes. There’s help out there in the DOC neighborhood. Most of the time I find advice just by reading. Other times I go looking for help (like my first Dexcom insertion). And then there are the times that I ask for help, here.

I like living in the DOC neighborhood. It’s a great home with helpful friends.

Stop reading here if you don’t want to end up singing Mr. Rogers’ song for the rest of the day.

It’s a beautiful day in this neighborhood, A beautiful day for a neighbor.
Would you be mine? Could you be mine?…
It’s a neighborly day in this beauty wood, A neighborly day for a beauty.
Would you be mine? Could you be mine?…
I’ve always wanted to have a neighbor just like you.
I’ve always wanted to live in a neighborhood with you.
So, let’s make the most of this beautiful day. Since we’re together we might as well say: Would you be mine? Could you be mine? Won’t you be my neighbor?
Won’t you please, Won’t you please? Please won’t you be my neighbor?
So, let’s make the most of this beautiful day. Since we’re together we might as well say: Would you be mine? Could you be mine? Won’t you be my neighbor? Won’t you please, Won’t you please? Please won’t you be my neighbor?

Won’t You Be My Neighbor By Fred M. Rogers © 1967

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Links

  1. Reyna Maher says:

    🙂 BEST neighborhood around!

  2. Kelly Booth says:

    I agree, the DOC is the best neighborhood ever!

    I got a chuckle with the spam stuff. When I first started out, there was one comment in the spam that I actually hit approve and wondered why it landed in spam – then I saw the email address where it was from and quickly deleted it. I learned the hard way to pay attention to where they were from, not just what they said.

  3. Scully says:

    That’s a lovely story about your neighbour. It’s heartwarming.
    and that’s how I feel about the DOC also. It’s like a knock on your door and a helping hand.

Comments are closed.