Find a Friend


Just looking at the list of participants, I’m seeing a bunch of blogs that I haven’t seen or read or commented on. Gee, there’s a whole bunch of us here in DOC Land!

Today’s prompt from Karen!
Click for the Find A Friend – Monday 5/14 Link List. It seems the most popular thing about Diabetes Blog Week is that it helps us find blogs we weren’t reading yet and connect with some new blog friends.  With that in mind, let’s kick off Diabetes Blog Week by making some new connections.  Think about the d-blogs you read that you think we may not know about and introduce us to one that you love!!  Let’s all find a new friend today!    (Special thanks to Gina, everybody’s Diabetes BFF, for helping me title this post!)

When I began blogging, it took nerve to comment on a d-blog. I hadn’t been diagnosed very long. I certainly didn’t know much. I felt like the new kid in school. (Which by the way, I’ve had a lot of experience with that feeling. I went to (gotta add ’em up…) 8 schools by the time I graduated from high school. That’s what happens when your dad’s in the Army.) The people in the DOC are a friendly bunch, ready to cheer you on or give you a pat on the back when you need support.

There are days when I’ll click through to a blog after reading a comment they’ve posted elsewhere and then add them to my Google Reader list. Love having the list! Hate having the list! OMG, I could spend all day reading blogs. But I can’t. I have a job. I have chores to do. I have a life. So, I read what I can and comment where I can. Sometimes it’s just a “Hi there! Liked this post!” Which is lame, I know… but, I just want to say hi and it’s nice to meet you.

I doubt very much that I can introduce you to someone but, I’ll try.
April writes at http://nerdyapril.blogspot.com/
She’s getting married and I’ve enjoyed following her wedding planning.
We have two sons, neither is married, and I get a kick out of reading about the d-women who are planning weddings.

And, blogging this week is going to be a challenge. Below, my computer, as the remodeling continues…

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Find a Friend

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    I was already participating on d-message boards when I started reading d-blogs and I was still afraid to comment. Don’t know what we would do without those readers!

  2. Johanna B says:

    I’m a navy brat so I understand the always being the new kid on the block feeling. I enjoy your blog.

  3. pearlsa says:

    I did not know about Nerdy April. Thanks for the intro 🙂

    http://pearlsa.com/blog/

  4. Liz says:

    I’m another fan of yours!

  5. gogogone says:

    Hi again! (I know what you mean about life being insanely busy,I’m in that boat myself).
    That’s a new blog to me,& I look forward to “meeting” new PWD.

  6. Oh man, Colleen. I am feeling very overwhelmed by Dblog Week – like going shopping to a gigantic mall and having no idea where to look first……..

  7. Sara says:

    April is new to me too so I’ve added her to my rapidly expanding reader!

    Thanks Colleen!

Comments are closed.