One Great Thing – umm, Person

Click for the One Great Thing – Tuesday 5/15 Link List. Living with diabetes (or caring for someone who lives with it) sure does take a lot of work, and it’s easy to be hard on ourselves if we aren’t “perfect”.  But today it’s time to give ourselves some much deserved credit.  Tell us about just one diabetes thing you (or your loved one) does spectacularly!  Fasting blood sugar checks, oral meds sorted and ready, something always on hand to treat a low, or anything that you do for diabetes.  Nothing is too big or too small to celebrate doing well!

As a PWD, I do a lot of things. We all do a lot of things. Every single day…

For this post, it’s my husband who gets the credit for being a great Type 3. My husband is the chief cook around here. (I did it for 20+ years and when we moved here, he decided it was his turn.) As the cook, he is the one who notes the carb counts when needed for something he’s prepared. Very often, he’s already noted serving amounts and carbs on a piece of paper, ready for me when we eat. When shopping, he’s not only checking prices, he’s looking at the nutrition info before purchasing. (Oh, you should know, he’s a CPA, loves numbers…)

When I was dx’d, he jumped right in to the new routine. He attended the d-education classes with me and even attended one without me when I needed to be at the hospital with my dad. He went to the pump training with me.

My one great thing is a person, who I married almost 38 years ago.

Remember, it was the 70’s… 

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to One Great Thing – umm, Person

  1. Joanne says:

    Awwwww…. you two are so sweet! Loves that he does the cooking and that he’s so involved in your care. What a great guy!

  2. pearlsa says:

    Aww that is so sweet. one diabetes thing you did spectacularly was choosing the right husband 🙂

    http://pearlsa.com/blog/

  3. 1littleprick says:

    Your husband sounds like a wonderful guy! Great post!

  4. Renza says:

    How lovely and what a beautiful photo! I, too, have a wonderful partner. Not sure how I’d cope without him.

  5. Kelly Booth says:

    If you only knew when you were picking husbands how much a CPA would come in handy! I have a feeling knowing how to count carbs wasn’t on the “Mr. Right” list back then!

  6. Johanna B says:

    Sounds like a good man to have around.

  7. Jillian says:

    Love the photo and the support!

  8. Liz says:

    That was really sweet! It gives me hope that maybe someday I can find someone who would be that supportive.

  9. Debra says:

    That is so cool that your husband does that for you. I wanted breakfast in bed for mothers day so I had to write down EVERYTHING for my husband so he would know what to do.

  10. tricia7473 says:

    What a wonderful post! Kudos to your hubby:) Love the picture!!

  11. Mr. Muffin rocks!
    (I’m not posting this week because it just seemed like too much to take on. However, I printed out the participant list and am determined to comment on at least one post from each person.)

  12. Sara says:

    Aww!! The definition of a Type Awesome!

    And great wedding picture!

Comments are closed.