One Thing to Improve

Click for the One Thing to Improve – Wednesday 5/16 Link List. Yesterday we gave ourselves and our loved ones a big pat on the back for one thing we are great at.  Today let’s look at the flip-side.  We probably all have one thing we could try to do better.  Why not make today the day we start working on it.  No judgments, no scolding, just sharing one small thing we can improve so the DOC can cheer us on!

And that would be… Exercise

I know my BGs are better when I exercise. I know I feel better when I exercise. I know it’s good for me when I exercise.

When I was diagnosed, just over 7 years ago, we bought a treadmill. And I used it, sort of, kind of, sometimes… And every few months, I’d get on a kick to do better at using that treadmill, and I would. I really would. But then…

And now – my truth – I haven’t been on it in six months.

Even worse – due to the reconstruction going on – and on – and on, at our house, it’s folded up.

And we cancelled our gym membership this month. We aren’t using it. It costs money. And so, we’re done with it for now.

Once the construction stuff is done, I have promised myself that I’ll get back into an exercise routine. For now, when I’m at work, I sometimes take a break and just do the stairs for a few minutes, or when the weather is nice (still waiting), I’ll walk around the building a few times. It works but I need the routine of doing something consistently.

Oh well…

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One Thing to Improve

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    I knew exercise would be a popular topic today but I had to laugh when I read yours. I am “trying” to do some walking and stairs when the weather is bad.

  2. kim says:

    when did you come to my house and snap that photo?? i’m pretty sure that’s my treadmill there!
    we bought one in 2010, and i used it for a short time, but now it’s a lonely machine, collecting dust. i may have to dust it off and climb back on!

  3. Reyna Maher says:

    At least you didn’t have clothes/jackets hanging on it. 🙂

  4. I use to own one to does cloth hanger, I mean treadmills. 🙂

    http://pearlsa.com/blog/

  5. Brian says:

    That was the topic of my “needs work” too. It is a constant struggle. Try and get that routine going. I am right there with you!

  6. Carol says:

    I agree it is so easy to have good intentions and so hard to carry them out. Then you start exercising and it feels great but for some reason you stop and that feels okay too. Such a vicious cycle! By the way, I am the idiot that was so impressed that you had a video incorporated into your blog that I started watching it. Then I noticed that it was 28 minutes long and then noticed the little “advertising” up in the top corner. I feel a bit foolish….

  7. Johanna B says:

    Exercise is one of the things I do moderately well. I ride my exercise bike for 20 min 6 days a week and I use the treadmill at the fitness center (which is next door to my office) 3 times a week. I also do about 20 min of stretches every day. I know I should do more but it’s good enough for now. I wish I had your treadmill.

  8. Liz says:

    Oh, I wish I had a treadmill….but then it would eventually take up space next to my Ab Roller, weight bench, Glider, yoga mat, exercise balls…… I totally understand!!

Comments are closed.