Fantasy Diabetes Device

Today let’s tackle an idea inspired by Bennet of Your Diabetes May Vary.  Tell us what your Fantasy Diabetes Device would be?  Think of your dream blood glucose checker, delivery system for insulin or other meds, magic carb counter, etc etc etc.  The sky is the limit – what would you love to see?

Easy, peasy! A new pancreas! Oh, not available, huh?

As I write this – our current weather warning is: Hail up to three-quarter inch in diameter… heavy downpours… excessive cloud-to-ground lightning and gusty winds of 45 to 55 mph can be expected.

The lights have dimmed a couple of times and there’s definitely some thunder out there. So who knows how long I’ll be able to stay online? Except, we did just have a whole house generator installed. I’d prefer that we not test it out, yet.

Anyway, back to Karen’s prompt…

I’ve only been at this d-stuff for just over seven years (really???!!!). I’m awed by how much I’m able to do with my meter and my pump and my dexcom.

I find it all annoying and amazing and a pain in the ass. (So there!)

The black spots on my fingers are surprising. I thought it would take longer. It didn’t.

I want this to be easier for the children. (I want children NOT to have diabetes but…) I would love a fantasy d-device that measures BGs without poking a hole in your finger. Some sort of “button” that you just place against your skin and bingo, bango, there’s the number – in great big numbers so you don’t have to put on your glasses to read it. We wouldn’t need CGMs because the button would make it so easy, peasy. You could wear the button on a necklace or put it on your key chain.

I keep hitting “Save Draft” while writing, just in case.

My other fantasy – not a device, but needed – diabetes should NOT be so hard to pay for. I have insurance. I continue working so I’ll have insurance but jeez, the number of people who have to decide “Will I eat this week or buy insulin?” makes me cry/angry.

OMG – biggest jolt I’ve ever felt from thunder/lightning – and I used to live in Kansas! That’s it for me, tonight!

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fantasy Diabetes Device

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    A BS button would be nice! I like the fact that you added in you wouldn’t need glasses to see it – that is one of my gripes about having to use syringes again to take Apidra. Have to grab my glasses to do it. I hope that you didn’t lose power!

  2. Joanne says:

    I like your idea… if it were only that easy, right?

    Hope you were able to get some sleep… I love a good storm, except at night.

  3. kim says:

    that would be an awesome device. and yes i have black dots too, so i’m sure the little kiddies with there little fingers must have them. i saw a lot of kids with pumps the other night, and i felt so sorry for them, and their parents. i hope someone, somewhere with the knowhow reads these blogs and can actually come up with these ideas “for real”, real soon.

  4. Liz says:

    Colleen, I hope everthing is calming down and the storm passed without issues! I like the idea of a button to check bs. One less needle to have to deal with!

  5. Johanna B says:

    Stay safe from the storms. I live in Topeka – grew up in New Orleans and I understand t-storms.

  6. gogogone says:

    I hope you were able to keep your power. Being half-blind without my glasses, I like the idea of a very large CGM-ish type readout.Diabetes is too painful,and it definatly needs to be significantly less so.

  7. Carol says:

    Great ideas! There must be a better way to get readings -without pricks and glasses! Hopefully we will see it on the market soon.

Comments are closed.