What They Should Know


Today let’s borrow a topic from a #dsma chat held last September.  The tweet asked “What is one thing you would tell someone that doesn’t have diabetes about living with diabetes?”  Let’s do a little advocating and post what we wish people knew about diabetes.  Have more than one thing you wish people knew?  Go ahead and tell us everything.

This is a tough one. I don’t like to whine. I’d rather suck it up and let a smile be my umbrella.

I could do a long, long list. Just like all of you could do a long, long list.

Short list:
I miss my freedom.
I miss my small purse.
Edited at 4:30am… I miss sleeping through the night without something beeping, buzzing or singing a tune. I knew the pump battery was low but tried to wait to change it until this morning when I do a site change. It didn’t work.

On the plus side…
I am so happy to have all the DOC friends.

I could write a whole lot more. We all could but…
This is my Google Reader when I got home from work…

And here’s Karen’s list for Thursday!

Time to do some blog hopping!

PS – storm wasn’t so bad – power stayed on! – today was beautiful. Thanks for caring!

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What They Should Know

  1. Scully says:

    Ouch… gotta get to reading! I’m never going to catch up.
    I like your “I miss…” take on it. I miss it too… life without D

  2. Molly says:

    I miss freedom too. And being able to be spontaneous.

  3. Jillian says:

    I want a small purse too!!

  4. Aaah freedom, what does that mean again?

    http://pearlsa.com/blog/

  5. Liz says:

    I’m sure I will be reading the blog posts for months to come, don’t want to miss any of the responses! Btw…glad that the storm has passed 🙂

  6. Sara says:

    I have never been a girly girl, so I miss not having to carry a purse at all! 😀

  7. Kelly Booth says:

    I want a very tiny purse too. I am afraid to log into Google Reader! I missed yesterday and most of today so it is going to take me a week to get caught up.

  8. Love the middle of the night edit… Of COURSE it wouldn’t let you sleep through the night!

  9. Oh sis, I vividly recall when I was in my 20’s and had been invited to a very ritzy wedding by a very hunk-of-burning-love type guy. I found the perfect sapphire blue gown (gosh, I wonder where it is today?) and had given up on finding a purse.
    But I stumbled upon one – the perfect shade of matching blue. I was taking it up to the counter to pay for it and realized that my db supplies would never fit in it. I nearly threw a hissy fit right in the store and marched out in a snit, thinking, “oh well, diabetes has ruined my life once again”.

Comments are closed.