Diabetes Hero

Click for the Diabetes Hero – Sunday 5/20 Link List. Let’s end our week on a high note and blog about our “Diabetes Hero”.  It can be anyone you’d like to recognize or admire, someone you know personally or not, someone with diabetes or maybe a Type 3.  It might be a fabulous endo or CDE.  It could be a d-celebrity or role-model.  It could be another DOC member.  It’s up to you – who is your Diabetes Hero??

I think we’re all heroes – yeah, I know, I’m a wimp. I can’t pick just one.

The parents who raised the strong children who became vocal diabetes ambassadors as adults.

The children who show us we can do this.

The parents who are beginning their lives as a d-mom or d-dad.

The teenagers who are dealing with the usual teenage stuff and still demonstrating their ability to manage their health at the same time.

The Type 2 PWDs who not only work hard to stay healthy, but have to live with the constant, annoying reminders of Type 2 diabetes that are seen on TV and print ads.

The d-bloggers who have provided so much information while I (and others) struggled with my acceptance of this disease.

The PWDs who have not only struggled with their diabetes but then had/have to cope with a new diagnosis of cancer, etc…

So, yes, I believe we’re all heroes!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Diabetes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Diabetes Hero

  1. Carol says:

    Thanks for being a hero! I have enjoyed meeting you (brave new world) this week! I look forward to reading more!

  2. I couldn’t agree more, my friend.

  3. Kelly Booth says:

    Great post Colleen!

Comments are closed.