Let them eat cake!

I know, the quote refers to bread but I’m talking about cake.

My husband was visiting relatives last week. I stayed home with the continuing (…) renovation.

While there, he purchased one of my favorite cakes at a local grocery store to bring home.

A relatives’s husband, a family practice physician, asked,

“Can she eat that?”

M explained that I would definitely eat that, with insulin, and then keep an eye on my Dexcom to make sure all was good.

The physician didn’t know what a CGMS is.

I’ll give him credit. With info from M he went straight to the computer to learn about it.

A couple of years ago, I showed him the first pump he’d ever seen. I also sent him info on LADA, Latent Autoimmune Diabetes in Adults, which he knew nothing about at that time.

Sigh………………………..

Oh, the cake.

1/12 of the cake is 47 carbs. And, yes, 1/12 is a very skinny piece of cake, but it’s yummy.

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Let them eat cake!

  1. Scott E says:

    If only you could see how I sighed and rolled my eyes when I read “Can she eat that”. I imagine you did the same upon hearing it.

  2. Scully says:

    “…but it’s yummy.” …..AND WORTH IT!
    mmmmm……

  3. Kelly Booth says:

    I guess it was a good sign he went to his computer to learn about it. The cake looks really good!

  4. kim says:

    looks delicious!!! and so bolus worthy!!

  5. Heidi says:

    Thats the most layers in a cake I’ve ever seen. Yummy!!

  6. Can she eat that – my favorite. It does look good! Just think you can enjoy it for 12 days – except it probably doesn’t last that well for 12 days.

  7. Liz says:

    Oh that cake looks soooooo good! I’m glad you went ahead and had a piece, I probably would have had more than one…..but the extra “work” would so be worth it!!

  8. Well, we’re all here to learn from each other, whether we have db or not, whether we’re a doctor or a patient.

Comments are closed.