The boy (Dexcom) who cried wolf…

Dexcom – somedays I hate it, somedays I am so damn grateful.

Yesterday, I hated it. Last night, it’s my new best friend…

All day yesterday, it kept saying I was low, and I would test, and I wasn’t low.

So last night when it started its beep, beep, buzz, buzz, low, low, I kept hitting the snooze (clear) button because, I just knew I wasn’t low.

At 3am, I got up and tested, just so I could reset the number and tell it where to go. Didn’t work. I was 39. I don’t think so. Tested again and yup, low. Funnily (is that a word?) enough – no symptoms. No shakes, no nothing. Until I tested. Then it all started. Drank a juice box and waited, waited, waited. Up to 60 something but, not ready to go back to bed. Ate a candy bar – I know, not the right thing to do… But it worked and I was back in bed by 4am. Whoopee!

Slept until almost 7. I’m usually awake by 5:30 with no alarm clock. (Age, it happens…)

I woke up in the 90′s. Not so bad.

At lunch – no issues.

But – had two cookies and probably goofed on the bolus (one cookie had frosting). Was at 300+ by 3pm. Came home – and by 5pm, was back down to 40 something. This is ridiculous!

300 up and down in one 24 hour period. Stupid, annoying, and not a lot of fun.

Yup, charged it this morning before going to work in a fog…

I can’t believe I took a picture at 3am…

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The boy (Dexcom) who cried wolf…

  1. Colleen says:

    The very same thing happened to me last week! I ignored Jiminy (my Dexcom) all night until about 5:00. It kept insisting I was low but I didn’t feel low. Finally I got up and checked – 42! OK, really? I too, rechecked! Then, as I walked around looking for snacks, that awful low feeling hit. Technology – I go from hating it to loving it SO quickly!

  2. Liz says:

    That sounds like it was a really rough night/day. I have the same love/hate relationship with my Dexcom. It does it’s job though, so as I’m cursing the constant nagging in the middle of the night.. I’m so grateful to have one!

Comments are closed.