Going Up?

The new Dexcom began its working life on Sunday morning.

Charged – ready to go. Did the two hour wait thing. Put in the two BGs. And you will never, ever guess what it did next.

It initialized! Jeez, just like the other one. Maybe I have an aura? Maybe my personality is just overwhelming? Maybe I’m charged?

Good grief.

Since then, it’s been fine (cross my fingers and no, I certainly don’t hope to die :().

But…

We ate late last night. I knew it was going to creep up to the alarm limit. And I know that it will go back down but, it will wake us up (to be honest, I sleep right through it most of the time, it’s my poor husband who is often “sleepless in New Hampshire”). So —-

I shut off the high alarm when I went to bed.

Guess what? At some point during the night, the Ping inset fell out of my leg. (It was pretty mashed so it didn’t actually fall out – looked like I scrunched it.)

When I got up, there was the tubing – all 43 inches of it – with the inset just hanging around. I cursed. Then I put in a new inset – before coffee!

Tested at 200+ and stayed high most of the day.

I have learned that I really need that 3-5am basal.

I have reset the high alarm on the Dexcom…

PS – I am totally and really enjoying all the FFL (Friends for Life) posts, photos, love and laughter. One made me cry – Meri’s at Our Diabetic Life.

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going Up?

  1. Karen says:

    How dare that pump site pull out of you during the night!!! I’m glad you were only in the 200s, I guess it could’ve been much worse, huh?

  2. Liz says:

    That was a crazy night! One night I had ripped my inset out and threw my pump across the room…in my sleep. Sometimes you just get tired of all the bells and beeps! I hope the new Dexcom starts behaving itself :)

Comments are closed.