What to do when low this week…

There’s a ceramic pumpkin full of Halloween candy sitting in our living room. I know it’s there. It doesn’t bother me. We don’t have any children living here, so it’s not like it gets eaten up in a day. I do have a husband who enjoys having a candy bar every now and then. On top of the candy in the ceramic pumpkin are the cut out (by my husband) nutrition labels for every bag that he dumped into the ceramic pumpkin.

I used to be a chocoholic.

Then I got diabetes…

But – for some reason, I’ve been running low every single afternoon when I get home from work this week.

God likes me?

And, while years ago I could and would and did eat several of those itty, bitty candy bars as a snack, I find myself smiling with glee when Dexcom beeps and I get to eat just one of those itty, bitty candy bars. Choosing just one is not easy but surprise! – there are itty, bitty Twix bars in the ceramic pumpkin. OMG, I haven’t had a Twix bar in years and years.

It was 11 carbs and yummy!

And nope, we don’t have to worry about not having any candy for trick or treaters next week. There will be none. We’re in the boonies.

So it’s ours, all ours…

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What to do when low this week…

  1. Scott E says:

    Come to think of it, I tend to go low more often too when there’s Halloween candy around! (maybe it’s because I over-bolus for the candy I *do* eat!

  2. scully says:

    You’re so cute!
    I am an all or nothing type. I can’t have stuff like that around or I WILL consume it all. One itty bitty twix bar? just a tease in my mind. Which is why I sort of have to avoid it all together :(.
    A bite of twix is 11g of carbs. That’s like 1/4 of a whole twix bar.
    I quit!

    😛

  3. I lost my chocolate craving about 5 years ago. However, a big old carmeled apple with crushed peanuts still calls to me…..

  4. Sara says:

    Peanut butter cups….

    November 1st… half price 😀

  5. mewithd says:

    Thanks to this post, I bought a Twix bar today. Good thing, too, because I ended up using it to treat a hypo! Yay!! So good! I hadn’t had one in years and years either.

  6. God does love you! That is a great story. I had tiny kit kats and was dying to eat them. I had one last night and the rest are off to be donated.

Comments are closed.