Goin’ to California!

We’ll be in Monterey, California next month for a wedding!

And – after traveling that far, we’re certainly going to take some time to explore.

We’ll be in San Francisco for an extra 3 days and I’m looking for tourist advice. We’ve been once before and hope to spend some time visiting museums this trip.

We also plan to head north from San Francisco for a couple of days to see whatever there is to see. We both want to see the Redwoods… We like “meandering” down back roads and finding a non-tourist restaurant. We’re okay with stopping at oddball places. (As a family, we have great memories of stopping at the Corn Palace in Mitchell, South Dakota!)

Back before computers and Google and travel websites, we would order a triptik from AAA to plan our trips. We did pretty good with those, way back then…

2013-03-03triptiksWell – they still have them. Look what I found!
http://www.dailyfinance.com/2010/07/09/aaa-triptik-app-doesnt-compare-to-old-fashioned-paper-triptiks/

 
Sarah M has promised to come up with some ideas for us – including cupcakes!

My last trip to San Francisco involved lots of walking around and lot of lows. But, a stop for a goodie and I was ready to walk some more! And yes, I carried around the purse from hell with all sorts of d-stuff stashed in there. In fact, the purse I brought with me wasn’t doing the job so we stopped so I could buy a new one – which I love!

So – if the California readers of this have suggestions, I’d really, really like to hear about them.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Goin’ to California!

  1. Debra says:

    Hope you’re still in the bay area when I get back from my trip, I would love to meet you. We will be back late on April 3rd, so i won’t be able to do anything till the 4th.

  2. Joanne says:

    Go see Meri!!!
    Fred and I loved to eat breakfast at the Dipsea Cafe in Mill Valley (north bay) when we lived there. And there’s a great pizza place called Dario’s in Sausalito. Yeah, I know… Not great for the BG. There is also an uber-yummy place called the Crepevine. They have a location in the city on Irving, and another in San Rafael (north bay), that I believe is on 4th street. Soooooooo good!

    Okay, now I’m hungry! Hope you have a great trip!

  3. Oooh! That sounds like so much fun!

  4. Karen says:

    I have no advice to give because I’ve never been to San Francisco but I wanted to say how exciting it sounds and how much fun I know you will have!! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  5. theperfectd says:

    We got married in San Francisco – love the city! Definitely go to the Embarcadero Ferry Market and Miette’s Bakery for lavender shortbread. (And there’s a salami place and an olive oil place and a…ok, yum.) Do not miss SFMOMA if you like contemporary art. We loved Monterey and Carmel, too. Enjoy and make wonderful memories!

Comments are closed.