Eight Years Later

So, on Saturday it will be 8 years since my PCP gently spoke to me and said, “You have diabetes.”
A couple of weeks later the endo looked at me and immediately said, “I’m pretty sure you have LADA.”

So,
Eight years later, I…

have found d-friends from all over the world who give me strength whenever I need it
It is amazing how someone(s) I have never met can hold my hand over the internet and make me think that I Can Do This. It’s even more amazing when I get the opportunity to meet these wonderful people in person. (California in a month…!!!)

am using a Ping Pump and haven’t screwed up too badly
I still smile when I think about how my hands shook those first few weeks of shooting in the inset. We’d sit at the table together, staring at the directions and hoping I didn’t kill myself. Now – pop it in and good to go – well, unless it bleeds, or I forget to take the tape off and it doesn’t stick, or it hurts like he** and I know I have to do it again.

have a diabetes blog
Who’d have thunk? I’m not famous or widely read but the blog friends I have here are very important to me.

am using a Dexcom g4
When I first saw the Dexcom apparatus I said “Nope. No way I’m going to shoot that humongous needle into my stomach. No number is that important.” The first time – I still laugh as I couldn’t get it disconnected and thought I’d have to go to the ER. Yeah, right, like they’d know what to do. Did it – Love it – Live in fear of Medicare and having it taken away unless I win the lottery.

have a new Tallygear cover for the g4 (replacement) with hopes that the usb cover will stay on
I’m even wearing it around my neck when I don’t have a good pocket.

love talking to anyone who asks me about diabetes – any type
A friend from church watched me as I was calculating carbs at a party, testing and then dosing with the pump. She asked if I would “educate her.” She doesn’t have diabetes. She just wanted to know more.

felt great the day an older parishioner came in and asked me to help her with her new meter
She’d just been diagnosed with T2 and wasn’t doing so hot with the strip, the blood, etc… We got it done and she’s doing great. Umm, she’s 90 now.

can’t believe I weigh food
I don’t weigh everything but I tend to underestimate a baked potato (along with some other foods). I don’t eat them often but, I love baked potatoes so therefore, I weigh, and gasp when I figure out that what I think is a small potato needs a sh** load of insulin.

can eat ice cream!
It’s in a small bowl. I take small bites. It’s worth the insulin.

still haven’t been to a cupcake store
There aren’t any in our small town but – next month in California, definitely!

own a treadmill
When I use that treadmill, my numbers are absolutely wonderful that day. So why don’t I use it every day?

still have a box full of cute, SMALL purses
I need to give them away.

hate air travel
A TSA agent in Kansas City convinced me that the machine would not damage my pump. One week later – it lost its date/time and continued to lose the date/time. Replacement pump, and I don’t go through any machines anymore.

very much appreciate the blogging moms and dads of d-kids
When I was diagnosed, they were trying to figure out how to help their kids. Their blogs helped me.

am in awe of all children with diabetes
Before I started pumping, I watched the videos of the kids with pumps. Their ability to deal with diabetes helps me. Favorite quotes, “That didn’t hurt!” & “I did it!”

love my husband
He went to the d-classes with me (8 years ago) and even went without me when my dad was sick. He counts carbs as handily as a d-person. He wakes up when Dexcom beeps and shakes, and gets out of bed to come around and look at the number. He brings juice to the bedroom when needed. He has the meter in his hand when needed. He gives up a “dinner out” when numbers are rotten. He was great before diabetes showed up at our house and is proof that love is important and nice. I’m lucky.

know this is too long
But I thank you for being my friends and no, I won’t attach that song at the end here but, you’re probably stuck with that ear bug until you read/watch/listen to something else.

Love You All!

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Eight Years Later

  1. Debra says:

    Love you too, can’t wait to meet you in real life

  2. Scott E says:

    I’d bet that eight years ago you wouldn’t have expected any of this (except for the loving your husband part – that, I’m sure, was never in doubt).
    You’ve come a long way, baby.

  3. I love this list. I’m so glad that your voice is part of this beautiful DOC mix – you bring much to the song. 🙂

  4. Molly says:

    Congrats on your 8 yrs of diligent d-work!
    Love this post. 🙂

  5. charli guerin says:

    Happy diaversary, Colleen! I’m sorry you have diabetes, but you are such an inspiration. You have taught me so much, including who Tom Brokaw is. 🙂

  6. Minnesota Nice says:

    Celebrate your strength and courage, Colleen.
    You know, my d-versary is sometime in March, but I don’t know the date. 39 years.
    Yeah, who woulda thunk it?
    Colleen, you are a dear lady and I am most proud to call you my friend and share our fondness of lady slippers. You were so helpful to me when my mom went into the nursing home. When someone has walked the path before you, you know that you can follow in their footsteps.

    (Pssst – you probably know that you and Scott share a birthday…..)
    Have a great weekend.

  7. Kim says:

    Too long? P’shaw! This space is YOUR party – you can babble if you want to. 😉

    Congrats on the milestone, Colleen!

  8. Johanna B says:

    Love this post.

  9. Colleen says:

    Where’s the “like” button? I’d click it 🙂 I agree wholeheartedly with all of this. And I hope you like your Tallygear case.

  10. Karen says:

    Oh oh oh, I am crying as I read this!!! I’m crying because I am so proud of you and so in awe of how much you have changed your life and thrived with diabetes!!!! You have traveled far in those 8 years, and thank you for sharing it with us!!! ❤

Comments are closed.