Up, down, all around

Some short thoughts…

How come I can’t get a Dexcom sensor to last longer than 10 days? It’s not a tape issue. They just go to the ??? and stay there.

I need to get this morning BG number thing straightened out. It’s exasperating, frustrating and makes me angry. If I stayed in bed maybe it wouldn’t go UP!

My Dexcom rep called this afternoon. Wanted to know how I was doing with the G4. I told her about the USB cover and she said she’d heard there were others. I also asked her about the 6 month life span of the transmitter. She said it’s actually 6-9 months and a warning screen will let me know that the battery is low. At that time, you have about a week left so she said to call immediately to order a new one.

Dexcom said 120 this afternoon about 30 minutes before I left work. I didn’t even look at it when I left. Dexcom then beeped and shouted as I drove into my driveway, that I was at 73. I told it that it was stupid. Tested – and I was stupid – meter said 75. I almost always check it before I leave but I didn’t today. If it’s close to low, then I test with my meter before driving. I will make myself check. I will put a sticky note in my car. Oh, I have a 5 minute commute. But that’s no excuse.

My BG tends to jump up high shortly after eating anything. But when it starts dropping, it drops quickly.

We are off to California next week. It’ll be strange not see snow. Not to worry, I’ll enjoy it. We haven’t put away the snow shovels, yet.

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Up, down, all around

  1. I think it’s very good of you to check before driving, no matter how short your commute is.

    We’re still dealing with snow around here, too. I was just in California last weekend, and it was marvelous! You’ll love it!

  2. Landileigh Nelson says:

    Colleen,
    Can’t wait to welcome you to the Golden State with open arms! I always try to check before driving. Luckily, I don’t drive as much as I used to. Glad you weren’t far from home.

    Landileigh

  3. scully says:

    Have a good little holiday. Is it a holiday? you totally need a break from the snow.
    I could never get my medtronic CGM to last even to 6 or 7 days.

  4. Katie says:

    Where are you wearing your DexCom sensors? I could never get them to last more than 7 days if I was wearing them on my stomach. The minute I started using back of the arm and outside of the thighs is when I started seeing 14+ days. I also always use a Skin-tac wipe after applying it to keep it glued down.

Comments are closed.