Travels with D

We enjoyed a wonderful trip to California where we visited the Redwoods (they really are as impressive as people say), Monterey (a beautiful wedding and a chance to see old friends), Sonoma (all those fields and fields of grapevines), and finally San Francisco, where there was lots to do and see, including meeting two of my d-pals, Landi & Debra. It was sunny and beautiful and warm.

2013-04Landi in person is even nicer (and funnier!) than her comments have been the last several years. I “met” her when I first started blogging and when I joined TuDiabetes. Debra, who had the unfortunate experience of DKA and ICU for her diagnosis as an adult, is even nicer than she seems/sounds like/looks like online. We talked our way to the restaurant, we talked while waiting, we talked while eating. Just a normal d-meetup and I loved it! Thank you both for driving in just to meet me. It meant a whole lot…

Sometime this past year, I purchased a pink, paisley child’s backpack just to hold the d-stuff when traveling. Turned out to be a great idea! Sensors (three, just in case), reservoirs and insets (five, just in case), insulin (one and a partial, just in case), insulin pens (one levemir, one novolog, just in case), needles for the insulin pens (forgot those on the last trip, thank goodness I didn’t need them), test strips (lots), iv prep, alcohol swabs, big bottle of glucose tablets and finally the always nice to have extra meter; you know – for just in case.

Both flights were full (yuck) and the airline was begging us to check our carry ons at the gate. And we did, because all I had to do was take out the pink bag to keep with us and the bags went off to wherever bags go. We had a larger bag we had checked and so that made having to retrieve luggage not a big deal.

TSA – I owe Kerri a huge thank you for making my return trip so easy peasy. Boston on the way out was somewhat whiny, not happy that I wanted the pat down. Tried to talk me out of it. San Francisco? I think they must have published this post from Kerri as I was astounded at the friendly and quick inspection. The pat down was completed before my other stuff came through the x-rays. My female inspector was a nice lady but she did say, “We will have to send your iPod through x-ray.” I laughed and told her it, my Dexcom receiver, was another of my diabetes devices and pushed a few buttons to show her the screen. She was surprised, said she’d never seen one and thanked me for showing her how it worked. It was in my Tallygear case so I think that fooled her.

Lugging around the d-stuff wasn’t fun but I did it.

Guessing at carb counts at restaurants for 10 days (see Scott’s post from today)? Even a 9 carb yogurt in the morning sent me soaring… I sucked and have the BG’s to prove it. I see my endo next Friday. She may gasp. I’ve probably ruined my A1c but you know what, that’s okay. The next one will be better.

So we’re home. And this was our weather today. Oh well.

2013-04-12 003 (600x800)

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Travels with D

  1. Minnesota Nice says:

    Meetups are soooooooo magical!!!

  2. Molly says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip! Glad you got the chance to meet some new D-friends. 🙂

  3. What a great trip, Colleen! I’m so glad you got to experience all of that. 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    Sounds like it was a pretty great trip!! You are so lucky to have gotten to meet Landi and Debra. As for those blood sugars, I’m right there with you when I travel. Stupid blood sugars don’t seem to like being away from home.

  5. Debra says:

    Thank you for such kind words. It was my pleasure to meet you. I’m happy that you included me part of your California experience:)

  6. Joanne says:

    Glad you had a good time! Must have been a wonderful break from the snow.

  7. landileigh says:

    Colleen, you were one of my VERY FIRST “D-friends” and finally meeting you was so wonderful! I hope that you and your husband can make it out again some day. I’d love for you to meet my Chuck.

Comments are closed.