I wrote to a newspaper columnist – about D

It is a first – oh, I’m wrong it’s my second time but…
(First time was back in high school, a long time ago…)

I wrote to a newspaper!

For many years I’ve read the column, The New Old Age, in The New York Times. It was a tremendous help to me when my dad was hospitalized and then lived in a nursing home. I learned lots and I believe it helped me to be a better caretaker and a better advocate for my dad those four years.

Last week I read this:
Diabetes Advice for the Elderly: Relax

It’s good but – Type 2 is only mentioned once, although it’s obvious that it’s about Type 2 if you know anything about the types of Diabetes. (And as we know, there are a lot of people who don’t know much.)

Now – I’m not signing any petitions. Like many of you, I think our goal has to be to teach people that the causes and treatments for the several “types” of diabetes can be very different.

So I sent an email to the writer, noting that as a Type 1 Diabetic, I can’t relax and just skip my medication, insulin. I said that although I understood that the column was a discussion of Type 2 Diabetes, that people reading it often wonder why I and others can’t do the same.

Her reply was pretty nice.
Good point.  This came up the last time I wrote about tight glycemic control, so I thought that by putting T2 right up top, in that italicized section, I would make the distinction.  But perhaps I needed to repeat that or make it more explicit; I will next time.
Meanwhile, let me encourage you to put a comment on the website (anonymously if you prefer) pointing out that this applies to those with Type 2, but people who’ve coped with Type 1 most of their lives are in a different situation.  It might be useful to other readers.
Thanks for getting in touch,
Paula Span
New Old Age

My dad always taught me that “you can catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.”

I especially respect her for writing, “I will next time.”

Look what you guys have done to me!!!

PS – Happy Snowy Day to the Kansas City DOC!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I wrote to a newspaper columnist – about D

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    Your Dad was a smart man and a good reminder for us! I am glad that you heard back from her and she got it!

  2. StephenS says:

    So awesome! I’m glad the writer got back to you, and gave consideration of your feedback.

  3. Karen says:

    Good for you!!!! This is a perfect example of how one “small” action at a time can hopefully begin to solve the bigger problem.

Comments are closed.