Share and Don’t Share

2013BlogWeek

Often our health care team only sees us for about 15 minutes several times a year, and they might not have a sense of what our lives are really like.  Today, let’s pretend our medical team is reading our blogs.  What do you wish they could see about your and/or your loved one’s daily life with diabetes?  On the other hand, what do you hope they don’t see?  (Thanks to Melissa Lee of Sweetly Voiced for this topic suggestion.)
 

I think I’m lucky. I truly believe that both my PCP and Endo (#4) truly make an effort to know what my life is like. They ask good questions and they listen to me.

I wish they could see the value of the DOC. My daily life would be the absolute pits without everyone who blogs about diabetes.

I wish they could see the hope and the affirmation I get from being part of this wonderful group of d-people. And even more importantly, I wish they’d be inspired to advise other patients to read and get involved.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Share and Don’t Share

  1. Briley says:

    I agree! I think that explaining an intangible to the doctors can be so difficult!

  2. Scott E says:

    A somewhat obvious point, but a good one. When I bring up new ideas to my endo, he asks “did you learn that from reading blogs or something?” So he kind of gets it — but I worry that he might think of it as an unreliable self-treatment atttempt (like those who try to treat their ailments based on WebMD) and won’t take me seriously. Despite all our respective medical disclaimers, though, diabetes blogs are (for the most part) reliable — and if there’s something far-fetched, unrealistic, or dangerous out there — they get called on it quickly. I hope my endo understands that.

  3. MelissaBL says:

    You and I are on the same page with this prompt! They need to see the value in what we are doing out here online. They need to become proactive about directing patients to places of support!

  4. Karen says:

    Absolutely!!!! I wonder if our health care professionals can ever really understand how important our on-line community is.

  5. Kelly Booth says:

    I agree with you – I have learned so much from the DOC and I wish they could how important it is.

  6. Colleen says:

    My CDE was the one who encouraged me to start blogging in the first place – well, actually she wants me to write a book on LADA but blogging is my way of doing that….. She is great about suggesting topics to write about (usually stuff I’m dealing with but didn’t think to write about) and sending me news and information I might not have access to. I feel like she gets that the DOC is an important part of my support team. And I have a doctor friend who actually sends his diabetic patients to my blog to encourage them to hang in there. That feels great. Hopefully, they see what a good support the DOC can be for them once they get there!

  7. landileigh says:

    It seems as if #4 is the charm! I wish all Endos knew the DOC!

Comments are closed.