Accomplishments Big and Small

2013BlogWeekWe don’t always realize it, but each one of us has come a long way since diabetes first came into our life. It doesn’t matter if it’s been 5 weeks, 5 years or 50 years, you’ve done something outstanding diabetes-wise. So today let’s share the greatest accomplishment you’ve made in terms of dealing with your (or your loved one’s) diabetes.  No accomplishment is too big or too small – think about self-acceptance, something you’ve mastered (pump / exercise / diet / etc.), making a tough care decision (finding a new endo or support group / choosing to use or not use a technology / etc.). (Thanks to Hilary of Rainie and Me for this topic suggestion.)

 It’s been just over 8 years since my diagnosis. I’ll probably never get a 50 year medal from Joslin. But that’s okay…

I’ve written about this before, but – it still makes me smile.

I’m very, very open about having Type 1 (LADA) Diabetes. I’m very, very rude  outspoken when someone sillily (yeah, I made that word up…) says, “Oh, can you eat that?” Because I’m such a big mouth, one day an older parishioner showed up at my office. She said, “They said you could help me.” I told her I’d try.

The she pulled out a meter and a package of strips, and told me she’d just been diagnosed with Diabetes. I asked her what type. She didn’t know. After some discussion, I was pretty sure it was Type 2 (reminder, I am NOT a physician).

Turned out, she was very confused as to how to use the meter. Someone at the doctor’s office had shown her but when she got home, she was clueless.

We sat in my office and practiced until she got it. Biggest issue was which end of the strip got the blood and which end went into the meter. Damn strips were individually wrapped. I told her to call the doctor and get rid of those. At that time, she was in her late 80’s. Had some shakiness in her hands. It really was difficult for her. So we practiced. (We didn’t use blood so she could save her strips.)

Each summer when she returns to New Hampshire she stops by to let me know how she’s doing. And she’s doing great! She turned 90 last summer. She walks every day, has lost weight, looks good and she’s very proud of herself. I’m proud of her!

All because of my big mouth.

Still makes me smile…

Read about more Accomplishments in the DOC!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Accomplishments Big and Small

  1. Scott E says:

    Great story! This is so genuine … I don’t get the impression that you’re fulfilling some sort of perceived obligation to educate and advocate for people with diabetes; you’re just being your kind, warm-hearted self, and that made a world of difference to someone.

  2. Carey says:

    Nice story, Colleen. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I’m glad to know that one with D can live a long happy life.

    Often all we need is to be kind, like you were to that lady.

  4. Heidi says:

    That’s awesome. Glad you were able to help another PWD out!

  5. Kelly Booth says:

    Glad you were able to help her! You would think whoever gave her the meter would realize she would have trouble with individually wrapped strips. How could anyone do that in a hurry, old or not.

  6. Sara says:

    That is such an awesome story. I had to pronounce sillily out loud to figure out what word you meant! LOL!

  7. Colleen! You are a superhero!

Comments are closed.