Freaky Friday

2013BlogWeek
Just like in the movie, today we’re doing a swap. If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes? And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances  with other medical conditions? (Thanks to Jane of Jane K. Dickinson, RN, PhD, CDE and Bob of T Minus Two for this topic suggestion.)
 

I’ve been dreading this post. Who am I to think I have it any worse (or better) than someone else’s crummy disease? So, no swapping for me!

Yesterday morning (Thursday) I Googled “Chronic Disease.” It’s not a really long list. And I don’t know a whole lot about many of them, other than Diabetes. Which is not surprising, since I didn’t know a whole lot about Diabetes before I got it.

I have four on this list. My other 3 are hypothyroidism, hyperlipidaemia and hypertension. I’ve had the thyroid issue since I was 18. I didn’t have high blood pressure or cholesterol issues until I was diagnosed with Type 1 (LADA) Diabetes. Hmmm…

Here’s the list I found. There are several sites but, this is one list.

A list of chronic diseases
All medical schemes are required to provide cover for the ‘diagnosis, medical management and medication’ of the following conditions.

  • Asthma, Bipolar mood disease, Brochiectasis, Cardiac failure, Cardiomyopathy, Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, Chronic kidney disease, Coronary artery disease, Crohn’s disease, Diabetes insipidus   Huh? What’s this? Mayo Clinic Link, Diabetes mellitus (type 1 and type 2), Dysrhythmia (irregular heartbeat), Epilepsy, Glaucoma, Haemophilia, HIV, Hyperlipidaemia (high cholesterol), Hypertension (high blood pressure), Hypothyroidism (inactive thyroid gland), Multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, Rheumatoid arthritis, Schizophrenia, Systemic lupus erythematosis, Ulcerative colitis

As a former Special Ed teacher and having spent a summer as a camp counselor at Camp Easter Seal in Virginia, I think I’ve always tried to be more sympathetic to other’s diseases and/or medical conditions. One of my campers at Camp Easter Seal was a young woman with a brain injury, my age. As I merrily pushed her wheel chair down to our cabin, with her mom alongside; we got to the door and you know what? I couldn’t push the damn wheelchair over the door jamb. Mom was polite and patient as she taught me how to get a wheelchair over the bump. (Just think – she was trusting her daughter with me for two weeks – she had more confidence than I would have…) The young woman and I had a great two weeks together and in September, I was back in college. That’s where I found someone who had known my camper – a popular senior in her high school who was hit by a drunk driver… Yup, sucks…

What I like best about our DOC is that everyone accepts you/me for who we are. I probably wouldn’t know a thing about gastroparesis (what’s amazing is I spelled that correctly) or celiac or insulin allergies or vision problems or skin problems, or etc…, etc…, etc… if I hadn’t joined the d-people.

And even more importantly,
I will never, ever judge a person for their disease or condition.

Click for the Freaky Friday – Friday 5/17 Link List

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freaky Friday

  1. charli guerin says:

    I know someone with diabetes insipididus. Crazy disease! I’ve enjoyed reading your post all week, friend.

  2. Melissa Lee says:

    I had NO idea the list was so small. Wow. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Kelly Booth says:

    I am sure that she trusted her daughter with you because she could tell that you actually cared. That makes a huge difference! I didn’t want to change with anyone either!

  4. Wow – what a story. I think that diabetes has certainly shaped how I see others, too.

Comments are closed.