Over-d’d

Hmmm, almost a month since my last post – didn’t even finish d-blog week.

Oh well.

To be honest, I think I got tired of diabetes. Sure, right – aren’t we all tired of diabetes? Yes, of course.

But I reached a saturation point of reading and writing diabetes. And it’s not like I blog every day by any means. I do read the d-blogs every day though.

I’ve been trying something new – for me. Attempting to pre-bolus breakfast in order to avoid the quick jump to 200 before 10 am each morning.  It’s working, most of the time. When it doesn’t work, it’s usually my fault. So thanks to Melissa at Sweetly Voiced for her kind and helpful responses to my questions.

Today’s challenge was a take out lunch for an office staff meeting. I usually order a salad but today I got a Reuben. Bolused liberally.

And… there was a cake…

This is for Elise, down there in Texas – “to getting a much smaller piece of cake at a birthday party.”
Then because it was a birthday, there was cake. It was chocolate cake. I love chocolate… Had a small, small slice. I ate it in small, small bites. It was yummy. And the very best part??? I got the bolus right and didn’t go high, high, high. I had a great afternoon at work because I didn’t go high, high, high. I thought of Elise when I requested that my slice of cake be a tiny slice of cake. Even when you’re old enough to understand why your piece of cake might be small, it’s still difficult to watch others enjoy a BIG piece of cake. But as I sit here now before dinner with a BG of 130, I feel much, much better about my small, small piece of cake.

And here’s my refrigerator art from Elise!

2013-06-13 003

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Over-d’d

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    Coffee is the one thing I have to pre-bolus for or I go skyhigh in the mornings. And there is no way I am giving up coffee! I will have to remember to ask for a small piece of cake next time I go out and want some cake – birthday or not! Congats on keeping your BS from going high!

  2. Joanne says:

    Thanks for making Elise smile. She loved seeing her artwork displayed.

  3. Karen says:

    Awww, your post made me smile!! Over-d’d is a real thing – I’ve been feeling a bit over-d’d too, but I’m so glad you gave us an update because I miss you!!

Comments are closed.