Being Pregnant

Hoping my husband doesn’t look over my shoulder and have heart failure…

NO, I’m not, but…

Reading the d-blogs, and I read a lot of them, teaches me something new each day. I read lots of them. I read the Type 1s, I read the Type 2s, I read the d-Mom & d-Dad blogs (wasn’t Scott cute (hot!) yesterday on Katie Couric’s show?). I also love reading our pregnant Type 1 blogs.

As I read Kim’s (Texting My Pancreas) yesterday, I thought, well gee, we should all take care of ourselves, the same way the soon to be moms do, each day (and night). Keeping a closer eye on our numbers, our diets, our exercise. Staying up to date with our endo appts., the lab work. Keeping our prescriptions ordered so we’re not doing a last minute pick up of strips or insulin. (oops, I have a couple to drop off tomorrow at the drug store…)

One thing I should do more consistently is test when I’m at work. Mornings are still my worst up and down bg time. Maybe if I tested and then looked at a couple of days’ worth of tests, I’d have a better idea of how to solve the ups and downs. But, I get busy and forget. I’ll bet if I was pregnant, I wouldn’t forget. (Actually, just writing that just about gives me heart failure – oh well.)

So, I’m going to try to work at testing more often and taking a little bit more time for myself and my diabetes.

Because, it’s good to take care of ourselves. Even when/if we’re not pregnant.

PS – I met another LADA yesterday. She lives here! She’s younger than me (of course) but I’m looking forward to seeing her again.

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Being Pregnant

  1. Scott E says:

    This is a lofty goal indeed! If we all took care of ourselves as if we were pregnant, for every day of every month of every year, diabetes burnout would be much more rampant. As it is, I don’t know how these women do it for nine months.

  2. gogogone says:

    I so agree. Although I could do without all the guilt that comes with that state of being..lets do it sans guilt. I think it’s hard to find motivation to do our best day in and day out.

  3. Melissa Lee says:

    I’ve thought a lot about this between pregnancies and since my final (I hope) pregnancy. Why aren’t we all encouraged and/or more motivated to have tight target ranges and low A1c’s. I’ve tried to hold myself to that idea. The answer is that it’s a more exhausting standard of care and it is hard to maintain…but I try. I remember what I learned about myself during those stints and I try to remind myself of the control I’m capable of. Great post!

  4. Katie says:

    I think about this a lot too as a woman who is hoping to be pregnant in the next few years. At my last endo appt. she said, “well, let me know once you’re ready to start trying and then we can start doing some new things” and I thought, “why wouldn’t we start the new things now?” I am going to ask her what those “new” things would be at my next appt. in July.

  5. I don’t know how those amazing d-mommas do it. The level of intensity is crazy! I don’t think I could keep it up.

    But – I agree that even a little step in that direction might be a great thing for many of us. 🙂

    And very cool that you met a local lada! I love the way that rolls off the tongue!

  6. scully says:

    To be honest all the pregnant T1 blogs annoy me and I’ve mostly stopped reading them.
    perhaps because there will never be a bun in my oven or perhaps I’m just sick of reading the same shit over and over again.
    call me bitter. I do agree with you…
    imagine if we all took care of our diabetes like we were preggers? well we’d all be in tip top shape but I also think there would be some massive burnout happening 😉

  7. StephenS says:

    I think I’d go crazy if I had to stay on top of my diabetes like the expecting moms do. But, as Scott says, it’s a lofty goal. Thanks

  8. I did take the best care of myself and my diabetes when I was pregnant, but I am still working on it now…mainly because, I have such a love for my daughter and my husband, and my extended family and friends, that I want to do everything in my power to keep myself healthy and in their lives for as long as possible. I’ve been surrounded by death recently. In my own family and knowing others who’ve experienced loss. And it sucks. I do not wish that pain upon the people who love me at all, and certainly not if I have any ability to prevent it for many years to come.

Comments are closed.