An Alexander Week

alexanderHe could tell it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. He went to sleep with gum in his mouth and woke up with gum in his hair. When he got out of bed, he tripped over his skateboard and by mistake dropped his sweater in the sink while the water was running. He could tell it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. It was a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. Nothing at all was right. Everything went wrong, right down to lima beans for supper and kissing on TV.

I didn’t eat lima beans…

My week started out badly and went rapidly down hill. Waking up at a 200 on Monday is really not a great way to start. And it got worse. I changed insets. I changed insulin. By Wednesday, life started to look a little better and by Thursday, I felt like I had my brain back. (Which isn’t saying a whole lot but, I’ll take what I can get.)

The inset would work – 96 at lunch, and then it wouldn’t – back up to 200+.

The insulin was obviously working some of the time.

I finally decided that my left leg probably is done for, for awhile, as a location for the insets.

Meanwhile, another medical issue came up and my spirits went down.

Following a bone density test, I’ve now been diagnosed with Osteoporosis.

Life goes on.

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Alexander Week

  1. I hope you have a better next week. Keep your spirits up. As runners love to say, one foot in front of the other.

  2. StephenS says:

    Colleen, so sorry to hear about your diagnosis. I hope this week is much better.

  3. Sorry you are feeling down, that’s a lot to contend with. I’ve read that book to my son and I got a chuckle out of the how you used it to sum up your week. Hoping things take a turn for the better soon!

  4. Colleen says:

    Yeah, I had that week last week too. Had a scary low while swimming (I knew I was in trouble but just couldn’t make myself quit early to treat, so ended up below 40 and unable to stand….arg). Then found out that yes indeed I had torn the meniscus in my left knee and will be having surgery to fix it. So i feel your pain and am sending encouraging thoughts your way…..

Comments are closed.