Introducing my new morning carbs

Remember how I wrote about missing orange juice?

T50_OJNoPulp_59Not any more.

Following my latest bone density test, I’ve now been diagnosed with osteoporosis. It wasn’t a huge surprise as the first test said I was osteopenic several years ago. (I think I’m going to have to put that one in spell checker. Can you imagine misspelling osteopenic?)

Anyway, I did the Fosamax thing for several years, had no issues while taking it, but – the dx came anyway.

I’m not thrilled.

My PCP doesn’t want to start the med again and would prefer that I work with my endo on this issue. But meanwhile, she suggested that I try to get as much calcium in my diet as possible. And gave me a handy, dandy list of calcium rich foods.

I don’t eat many of them…

I love cheese, yogurt, broccoli and guess what – ice cream is of course on the list (it’s pretty low on the list…).

Milk. I don’t think I’ve had a glass of milk since my D diagnosis. (Mostly because the only way I drank milk was with several Oreos to dunk in that milk.)

I don’t eat fish (salmon, canned w/ bones – ick, sardines, Atlantic, canned w/bones – more ick).

Despite being married to a Southern Gentleman, I still don’t eat kale, collard greens or turnip greens.

Back to the orange juice. The Tropicana low sugar fortified with calcium is now part of every breakfast. 8 ounces is 13 carbs and 35% of daily calcium.

I can do that. And thankfully, bungee jumping was never, ever on my bucket list.

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Introducing my new morning carbs

  1. Kelly Booth says:

    At least you found something on that list – I think I would have some major problems with it too!

  2. Katie says:

    Ha! I actually love a lot of items on this list. In our family, women have actually be diagnosed with too much calcium, if you can believe such a thing exists. If we’re not low, we’re high <—get it!

  3. Charli1point5 says:

    I love this! You were faced with an obstacle and you chose the healthy road. I’m so impressed by how you take care of yourself.

  4. Joanne says:

    We use the trop 50 in our smoothies… Haven’t noticed a taste change. Sorry about the dx, yay for finding something you like!

  5. Karen says:

    Sorry you’re dealing with low calcium, but yay for finding a way (and a reason) to work orange juice back into your morning!! I’m with you on the fish thing – I do like fish but NOT salmon or sardines. Too bad ice cream isn’t higher on the list. 😉

  6. scully says:

    This is good news!
    enjoy it and have it and love it!

  7. I’m with you on the “ick-ness” of some things on the list. I do like orange juice…but maybe three helpings of ice cream a day would be better??? Hey, a girl can dream!

  8. Reyna says:

    You cracked me up with the Osteopenic? xo

  9. Katy says:

    we’ve been using Trop 50 in our smoothies. that stuff is good.

  10. I had to whip out my internet dictionary to check osteopenic. I typed osteopeni$ on my iphone, and the phone autocorrected it to osteopenia. My phone is getting smarter than me.

Comments are closed.