D-Blog Week – Wednesday

This is ridiculous! It’s almost 6pm on Tuesday night. I want to read more of the poetry (what a great topic – and boy do we have a whole lot of talented d-bloggers!), but until just now, I wasn’t even sure what tomorrow’s topic is and needless to say, haven’t written a damn word.

And I have to eat dinner at some point. Thankfully, I don’t have to fix it as my resident poet (my very own Type 3) does the cooking around here.

Click for the What Brings Me Down – Wednesday 5/14 Link List.
May is Mental Health Month so now seems like a great time to explore the emotional side of living with, or caring for someone with, diabetes. What things can make dealing with diabetes an emotional issue for you and / or your loved one, and how do you cope? (Thanks go out to Scott of Strangely Diabetic for coordinating this topic.)

I’ve met Scott. He’s really, really nice. He has the most engaging smile. He almost makes me wish we still lived in KC – almost…

I will totally give some credit to my PCP for alerting me to keeping an eye on my own mood(s) after the d diagnosis. I had a bunch of cr*p going on when I was diagnosed and my life already pretty much was kinda sucky. And then, the d-thing arrived. Not fun.

I have bad days, just like everyone else. But I recognize that “having a bad day” is nothing compared to those who deal with depression. But I totally appreciate and respect that the depression word/subject/idea is brought up here in the DOC. You never know who is going to get/find help, just because they recognized themselves in someone’s post.

So how do I cope? Sometimes, I don’t. I go bananas. I cry hysterically. I blame anyone who’s within five feet of me (yep, guess who that would be?).

Other times, I’m a little more controlled and I read, I compute, I watch dumb TV (house hunters saves me because some of them are so stupid they make me feel brilliant) and now that it’s almost summer, I’ll go work in the yard. (Stupid weeds!)

And then there are the d-bloggers and d-fbers. Without them, I’d be so scared. And I love that we all share more than just d-stuff. Flowers – Pets! – Recipes (yes, even the vegan ones) – Children’s Photos – Grandchildren’s Photos – Vacation Photos – you get the idea.

I guess I have to say, living in this DOC neighborhood of ours
makes living with diabetes
somewhat easier to cope with each and every day.

And – a final thought. If you’re reading this and you got here through Karen’s D-Blog Week list, take a few minutes to click on a blog there that you’ve never read and then, gasp, leave a comment. Sometimes, after taking the time to start a d-blog and move into the DOC neighborhood, it’s hard to feel like you’re getting to know anyone. We can all give one person a smile just by saying hello and saying something nice. You can skip commenting here – I’m fine today.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to D-Blog Week – Wednesday

  1. Kate Cornell says:

    But I want to comment! You can’t stop me. 😛 I agree that DblogWeek makes it possible to find and read so many great blogs that I didn’t know existed! I have been horrible about reading and commenting this past year. I’m hoping that the enjoyment I’ve been getting so far this week will carry forth into the rest of the year!

  2. Kelly Booth says:

    I know I lived in a world without the DOC but now I can’t imagine living in one without it!

  3. Sara says:

    I loved your closing thoughts on this post, but I’m commenting anyway!

    I have to get through all the posts from this week from the blogs I already had in my reader, but then I have to add the whole list of new blogs from Karen’s participant list. I love finding new people in the community. I remember being that “new person” and how much it helped me when people reached out to me.

Comments are closed.