D-Blog Week – Thursday

dblogweek2014Click for the Mantras and More – Thursday 5/15 Link List.
Yesterday we opened up about how diabetes can bring us down. Today let’s share what gets us through a hard day.  Or more specifically, a hard diabetes day.  Is there something positive you tell yourself?  Are there mantras that you fall back on to get you through?  Is there something specific you do when your mood needs a boost?  Maybe we’ve done that and we can help others do it too? (Thanks to Meri of Our Diabetic Life for suggesting this topic.)

The positives?:
I had 55 years of not having diabetes…
D-Blog friends help keep me sane…
D-FB friends help keep me sane…
Spring weather helps keep me sane…
Reading short posts during D-Blog Week helps keep me sane…

Like the rest of you, I know I can do this; it’s just that sometimes, I get tired of doing this.

I’m reminded of the parents who sometimes step up to give their d-kids & teens a d-break. The parent does the testing/the counting/the mathwork/the dosing for a day or so, just so their son or daughter can have a very small break from the minutiae of having to stay alive every single day. It’s a nice thing to do.

I know from reading about it that D-Camp is for some kids – the highlight of their year, where they are just part of the crowd and not – different.

Christel just might be providing us with our own Adult D-Camp!
Read about it at theperfectd.

The Diabetes UnConference

 

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to D-Blog Week – Thursday

  1. Registering! Thank you for sharing! Will you be there?

  2. Karen says:

    I hope you know how much I continue to admire your attitude. And yes, The UnConference, I definitely need to go to that (just trying to figure out a way to tell Pete I have found yet another conference I absolutely must go to). And I want to know the answer to Heather’s question – will you be there??

  3. Laddie says:

    I hadn’t thought of the UnConference being diabetes camp for adults. That’s exactly what it will be and I look forward to meeting you there.

  4. Kelly Booth says:

    The D-friends do help keep us sane! I looked at the camp the other day but my fear of flying will keep me away!

Comments are closed.