November? It’s done? I ate pancakes…

2014-10-31 03Diabetes Awareness Month kinda got by me this month.

I did not do the blog every day thing. The boringness of it would have driven any reader (and me!) nuts.

I wore my new blue circle necklace to work every day and if I was out and about. I had a whole “spiel” ready for when everyone would ask, “Oh, what a beautiful blue circle necklace! Tell me about it.” It didn’t happen.

I think next year I’m going to make a sign – “Ask me about my blue circle necklace!”

I did sign petitions and write senators/representatives. I did the Big Blue Test (not as often as I should have…). I did read others’ blogs.

And this morning? Just because? I ate pancakes (two of them) for the first time in a very, very long time. With syrup. I took a whole, whole lot of insulin. I had to do a couple of small corrections throughout the afternoon but… We were driving home from Cape Cod (where it had the audacity to snow while I was there…) and stopped for a late breakfast at an IHOP in Plymouth, Mass. I can’t tell you the last time I was at an IHOP. But, as I write this the BG is 70 something so I guess I’ll live.

My brother? The one whose doctor said “pre-diabetes?” Doing great – normal A1c.

My cousin? The one whose doctor said “Type 2 Diabetes?” Off meds and doing a great job with diet – exercise.

The naggy sister/cousin (that would be me…)? Quite pleased for both of them and very grateful for the Type 2 d-friends who take the time to write about their struggles and successes.

And – my younger sister announced she’s retiring early. Wanted to know why we weren’t doing the same. And I sat there with a straight face and said, “We can’t afford to because of my diabetes.”

So – help us get CGMs approved by Medicare so I’m not the oldest church secretary in history. (Although to be honest, church secretaries seem to hang on forever.) I don’t want to be in that office forever…

Hope your Thanksgiving was delicious – and your bg-s manageable! (If you live here and celebrated Thanksgiving…)

 

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to November? It’s done? I ate pancakes…

  1. StephenS says:

    Way to rock the pancakes!

  2. I miss pancakes! Honestly, and no offense meant to Type 1s or 1.5s, sometimes I’m tempted to go on insulin just so that I can have pancakes and PASTA again. I don’t care what anyone
    say (unless they are allergic to these foods), I miss pasta, bread (except white bread), couscous, rice, noodles, …. See what you started? 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    Sounds like you did quite a bit for Diabetes Awareness Month!! I love your Blue Circle necklace and I love that you ate pancakes. And I really love that you contacted your representative and coached your family members!! You rock!

Comments are closed.