10 Years Ago

10 years ago I was 54 years old.

10 years ago I knew very little about Diabetes because…

10 years ago I didn’t have Diabetes.

10 years ago the flu shot was restricted to people older than 54.

And so, in 2004, I wasn’t able to get a flu shot…

A link:
http://www.nytimes.com/2004/10/17/health/17flu2.html?_r=

10 years ago, I got the flu, just after Christmas. I was really sick.
(Our furnace broke that week, too.)
(The only thing I wanted to eat was chocolate milkshakes. Yup, no joke…)

Three months after that, I was diagnosed with Diabetes.

March, 2005.

You know, sometimes, life just sort of sucks.

Sometimes I feel sorry for myself.
Who am I kidding?  I feel sorry for myself every single, damn day.
And then I feel very, very, very lucky that I found the DOC people.

And then – I read other d-blogs, other d-facebook posts…
And I coped – just like the rest of you – just like all of us.

Diabetes Sucks.

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Diabetes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10 Years Ago

  1. Karen says:

    Thank you for your beautiful honesty. Ten years is a long time, and yes, diabetes sucks every day of that long time. But we are here for you!! We can’t fix it, but we can try to cope together.

Comments are closed.