Diabetes Grief

Today – one of the attendees of the Diabetes UC (UnConference) posted this:
My biggest struggle lately has been the grief over diagnosis. Before attending, I’d been having some rough weeks with sadness and worry over how my life was going to be now that I had diabetes. But something clicked over the weekend, and since returning I have felt so much more positive.

And yes – that was me, 10 years ago.

And yes – it’s still me, now.

D sucks. And you can “Pollyanna” it all you want. (And I’m one of the best Pollyanna people around.) But Diabetes sucks. Lots of other diseases suck – but I don’t have one of those at this time.

So for now, Diabetes sucks.

I can be positive. I can be angry. I can be sad. (I’m really, really good at sad.) I can be happy that there’s all these DOC people in my computer who help me. I can be angry that there’s all these DOC people in my computer who are stuck with the same sucky disease.

Sometimes it’s hard to be positive.

I’m lucky. When I started pumping, I was invited by our Animas Rep to join a group that met about an hour away. It was awesome. The pumping people were friendly and helpful and nice. Unless it was snowing, I drove to every meeting. Sitting around talking with other d-people made a HUGE difference. I wasn’t scared. I learned stuff. It really, really made me more confident in pumping.

Then – Animas phased out our Rep. She went to Rhode Island. And that was better for her family situation but, I miss her and our meetings…

And – apart from this – in speaking w/ a doctor’s office this week, and saying that I have Type 1, the person (nurse/receptionist/whatever) told me that she has a friend with diabetes who just doesn’t take care of herself. And she was angry. I told her that it wasn’t easy, and to try to NOT be angry at her friend with diabetes. And I told her that maybe her friend just needs another d-friend and gave her permission to share my name and number. I am far from the perfect d-person but sometimes, as we all know, just having someone else say, “Yes, me too.” makes a huge difference.

 

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Diabetes Grief

  1. hil03046 says:

    Colleen,
    I miss the Animas group too. I am always telling my doc that i need a program like AA for diabetes . Glad to hear you are well.
    Hilary

  2. StephenS says:

    Yay for you… It is so important to have someone to turn to that understands. Thanks for being that person. You rock!

  3. Laddie says:

    Well said, Colleen. You’re absolutely right that “Yes, me too” is part of the power of the DOC. And it was also part of the power of the UnConference.

Comments are closed.