The D Connection

Shortly after I was diagnosed (Type 1-LADA) – no insulin – just some pills, we were out to dinner at a local restaurant with friends from work. Must have been blogging by then or I wouldn’t have spotted the Medtronic pump on the waiter who walked by our table. Being the (ahem…) shy, and quiet person that I am, I grabbed the young man and said, “You’re wearing an insulin pump!” He was delighted (Thank, God…). We had a great time chatting and then he got back to waitering. My friends at the table thought I was nuts but – I worked with them so – they sorta already knew I was a little nutty.

Standing in the customs’ line in Dublin last September – which winds back and forth and back and forth – I spotted TUBING! Had to wait for the next loop and yes! It was an insulin pump! On a teenager – who wasn’t that thrilled that I spotted it. But – her mother was delighted. So as we wove through the back and forth, we had a fun conversation! The friends who traveled with us – well, thought I was nuts. M, the husband, he’s kinda used to it and copes. And the teenager? We were great friends by the time we got to the customs stuff.

Last summer, I met a local family whose young daughter has Type 1 and uses a Medtronic Pump. They wanted to enroll their daughter at VBS, in our church but – felt they couldn’t because of her diabetes. A friend of theirs – who knows me – said yes, you can – the church secretary wears an insulin pump. They’re a great family and I didn’t kill the cute young lady while she was at VBS. (A Medtronic pump is a whole ‘nother pump from Animas Ping.) We had fun and lots of giggles as she showed me what to do. Amazingly – this tiny little girl plays ice hockey, just like her mom. Seriously, the ice hockey equipment is bigger than she is.

Earlier this month (remember – this post is about connections) a d-dad, Carey Potash, posted on FB about a D-Ice Hockey Camp being held up there in Canada. I sent the info to the d-mom. And……..

kaceykacey2

They’re there – and they’ve met Carey – and she’s having a great time – and they’re already talking about going back next year. I’ve never met Carey but – a couple of years ago he posted a great video of his son with a light saber in their back yard – and it was fun to watch. AND – Carey knows Shannon Lewis – a d-mom – and Shannon told me that they’re a really great family. And Shannon lives in New Hampshire so sometimes we meet for lunch when I go down to the BIG city, Manchester.
And – isn’t she cute?

So – those D Connections very often show up when you least expect them.

Kind of like that old TV show “Candid Camera.”

And now you know, I’m older than you.

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The D Connection

  1. Scott E says:

    Cool encounters (hockey pun slightly intended)!. And if you learn of another D-hockey player in my neck of the woods… born 2007 or later….send them my way. On our hockey team, only the coach (me) has D – none of the kids do. And while I’m thankful for the kids that don’t, I would love the chance to coach/mentor a young player who does.

  2. Great story! It’s amazing the connections you can make in life. .Of course you gained over ninety friends/connections last March when we met while attending the Diabetes UnConference. Now I’d imagine you have a much wider circle of connections.

Comments are closed.