Learning from the D-Blogs

I have always enjoyed learning something new. I’d prefer that my new knowledge NOT be related to Diabetes but – you take what you can get.

I keep juice boxes in my car most of the year. And I have to be honest, sucking down a box of hot juice in August is not fun. But, even less fun is trying to suck down a partially frozen box of juice in February. Only happened once because – I enjoy learning.

But – I didn’t know that glucose tablets don’t freeze. And I doubt that heat kills them so – My jumbo jar of Wal-Mart glucose tablets will now stay in the car – hot and or cold.

Where did I learn this? That Canadian D-gal – Scully and her Hacks!

Inserting Dexcom by myself in my arm? There are several d-people who have recorded a bunch of “how to’s.”

The one that helped me was Kim’s – a couple of years ago. I was quite annoying with my Yay! I did its! on Facebook that day. I still ask my husband for help most of the time – cuz it’s easier. But at least I know that I can do it, if I have to do it.

And – I don’t use OmniPod but – the first time I watched Caleb do his – by himself (with a little help/advice) – I was just as thrilled as if I’d been his mom. He was so proud and it gave me the courage to keep on working on this d-stuff, even when it’s not easy. He’s older now – and even cuter!

So – d-bloggers need to keep on teaching. You never know who you’re giving some much needed courage to keep on keeping on.

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, Diabetes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning from the D-Blogs

  1. As I very anxiously await the arrival of my Vibe pump I’m trying to learn as much as I can absorb about pumping, infusion sets, how to determine the correct insulin carb ratio, how to sleep with an insulin pump, and a whole bunch of other concerns that pop into my head around 2 in the morning. This is like going back to grad school. I’m very grateful for all of the encouragement and practical assistance offered by the DOC. Thanks Colleen for your support!

  2. Karen says:

    So true! I probably can’t even count the number of d-tips I’ve learned from all the smart bloggers out there.

Comments are closed.