2016 Diabetes Blog Week – Tuesday

2016-BlogWeekClick for the Link List:
The Other Half of Diabetes – Tuesday 5/17
We think a lot about the physical component of diabetes, but the mental component is just as significant. How does diabetes affect you or your loved one mentally or emotionally? How have you learned to deal with the mental aspect of the condition? Any tips, positive phrases, mantras, or ideas to share on getting out of a diabetes funk?

The mental part? Like with any chronic disease, there are good and bad and even some “blah, who cares?” days. And some days I truly begin to doubt myself and my ability to treat my own diabetes. And other days I think I’m the queen of d-care.

The rest of the days? I think I’m probably nuts.

The love of my life – my husband – is my rock, and God only knows how he puts up with my bitching and moaning some days. (And Karen, he just brought a slice of lime for my drink!) After collapsing and falling sound asleep some nights, he’s the one who will stay up and watch the Dexcom numbers if there’s an issue. I hate, hate, hate that he has to do that. I know that he doesn’t have to do that. But he does. And it makes me sad and it makes me angry. But mostly, it makes me happy. I won’t mention the guilt…

No tips – well, one tip. Become active in the DOC. Connect on FB, create your own blog, do the Twitter thing (I still don’t know how…). Join a support group if you have one. When I first started pumping I attended a great group. I drove over an hour to meet them. It was worth it and I’m so grateful that I had that opportunity. They don’t meet any longer. Wish they did. It was sponsored by Animas and I loved being able to meet other d-people and pumper people.

Just do something so you won’t feel so alone.

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2016 Diabetes Blog Week – Tuesday

  1. Ashleigh says:

    You have a great man in your husband.

    The DOC is great, but I do value the face to face support just that little bit more. The strongest diabetes connections I have are the ones where I know people personally. Hopefully you will be able to join another group soon – or you could start your own group up.

  2. Kelley says:

    Your husband sounds awesome…mine is snoring before I even have a chance to get into bed haha πŸ˜›

  3. Laddie says:

    Twitter is easy, but I warn you that it can become a time-s*ck. But if you have never participated in the DSMA Tweet Chat in Wednesday, you should. I used this post of Kerri Sparling’s to learn. http://sixuntilme.com/wp/2013/05/14/diabetes-and-twitter-101/

    • carmygee says:

      Thanks for sharing the link Laddie. I’ve heard of it but haven’t had time to figure out the specifics. I second the time vacuum of social media. I rarely go on Twitter (only signed up to do #dayofdiabetes) and Facebook is truly a black hole.

  4. Reyna says:

    Omg! I hope Joe marries a woman like your hubby! Well, you know what I mean😜.

  5. Jenn says:

    I think we all are partially nuts, but that’s what makes us so great!

    DOC is great.. in person is greater. There’s just something about a hug that can’t be beat.

  6. carmygee says:

    Your husband sounds like a true gem. My husband is amazing too. Life is good. And so is a little crazy ;). And life is too short for guilt so you have my permission to quit taking that on… πŸ™‚

  7. Connecting makes it a lot easier. Twitter can be overwhelming, you have to be willing to miss things to not go crazy on it.

Comments are closed.