2016 Diabetes Blog Week – Wednesday

Click for the Language and Diabetes – Wednesday 5/18 Link List.
There is an old saying that states “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”. I’m willing to bet we’ve all disagreed with this at some point, and especially when it comes to diabetes. Many advocate for the importance of using non-stigmatizing, inclusive and non-judgmental language when speaking about or to people with diabetes. For some, they don’t care, others care passionately. Where do you stand when it comes to “person with diabetes” versus “diabetic”, or “checking” blood sugar versus “testing”, or any of the tons of other examples? Let’s explore the power of words, but please remember to keep things respectful.

I used to worry about the words. I’m old enough now that most of the words don’t bother me.

So for today, I’m going to go spend some time reading and commenting!

Oh wait! Medicare & CGMS
Those two words (ok – those five words) are on my mind every single day.
Have you contacted your state government officials to let them know that it’s VERY important that Medicare approve CGMS’s?
Please take the time to do that. Please?

It’s easy!

Follow this link. And thank you!

http://jdrf.org/take-action/advocacy/cgm-medicare-coverage/

And – as much as I love comments – given a choice, please follow the link and contact your state’s government officials and SKIP leaving me a comment.

Thanks, again!

Colleen

 

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 2016 Diabetes Blog Week – Wednesday

  1. Scott E says:

    But I can do both! Because I agree with you on both….

  2. Laddie says:

    Like Scott E, I can do both. Love the new header photo!

  3. carmygee says:

    Colleen, perhaps this will be the only comment I have time for today because it promises to be crazy busy today but I used my morning blogweek time to try to figure out how to follow your link. It worked for my Senator and I will be posting later in the day and referencing your post today if you have no objections. Thanks for the post.

  4. Kelley says:

    Very important post…I can do both as well 🙂

  5. I can do both! Nice use of a blog today!

  6. Frank says:

    It’s great that the words don’t bother you. I can’t do both, but I am watching the story with great interest from Australia 🙂

  7. Pingback: Diabetes Blogweek 2016; Day 3 – Happy Hamster Hunting! | thePodFiles

  8. Pingback: Diabetes Blogweek 2016; Day 4 – The Healthcare Experience | thePodFiles

Comments are closed.