2016 Diabetes Blog Week – Thursday

2016-BlogWeekI’ve been reading and commenting and then – oh no, tomorrow’s Thursday. I have to do this again. M asked, “What’s tomorrow’s topic?” I answered, “I don’t have a clue.” So I went to Karen’s page and saw – Healthcare Experience. Oh sh**, I could be writing for hours.

Click for the The Healthcare Experience – Thursday 5/19 Link List.
Most people who live with a chronic illness end up with a lot of experience when it comes to dealing with healthcare. How would you improve or change your healthcare experience? What would you like to see happening during medical visits with your healthcare team? How about when dealing with your health insurance companies? What’s your Healthcare Wish List or Biggest Frustration? Today is the day to share it all!

How I learned to advocate for myself and my family in the healthcare zoo.

So – I wrote a very involved blog post about advocating for yourself.

It was boring. It’s deleted.

But – YOU are the consumer, the customer, the person who is paying your physician.
Make sure you ask your questions.
Make sure you get your answers.
Make sure your physician listens to you.
Make sure you are doing the very best you can for yourself.

Most importantly – don’t waste your time and your physician’s time.
Show up with your questions. Write down the answers.

Be the advocate for yourself.

And remember, none of us is perfect. Try the best you can and tomorrow, try it again.

One wish – that insurance companies would shut off the DAMN music when I’m on hold.

 

 

This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2016 Diabetes Blog Week – Thursday

  1. Kelley says:

    Haha sorry, my toddler hit enter before I finished my comment…yes to all of this! I am guilty of not getting my questions answered at the doctor’s office then I leave feeling upset that I didn’t.

  2. kerriari says:

    the music only bugs me when they put me on hold for too long… 😉

  3. cutthebsgirl says:

    Amen!!! Direct and to the point!!

Comments are closed.